Yesterday google turned up "codegolf.xyz". It seems to be an up-to-date mirror of codegolf.se but not exactly. For instance, if I go to the first question and click "more comments", it doesn't show me more comments. Is this a legitimate mirror or is it something else?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Also, we cannot sign up/log in \$\endgroup\$
    – Leaky Nun
    May 22, 2016 at 13:43

1 Answer 1


Original Intent

I created this domain a while back when there were many new challenges involving some kind of parsing on the PPCG site. For a while, only some sites redirected to actual PPCG sites and originally, I planned to create online interpreters for various exotic languages used on PPCG.


  • Now, many shorter domains exists, including ppcg.lol (and .ga) etc.
  • Dennis' TIO now provides the interpreter functionality.
  • As kind of a PHP exercise, I rewrote the site. It's not a mirror, but a proxy.

The source for the proxy can be found here: https://github.com/minxomat/codegolf.xyz

Thus, the "site" that appears on the proxy can't be out of date, since it is re-fetched (with occasional caching) every time one visits. Login and a bunch of not-PPCG site features don't work and this is intentional. One should never input credentials through any kind of proxy. codegolf.xyz has an experimental HTTPS mode, where every resource is rewritten to be fetched over HTTPS (which currently has a bug where some links are forced to https even if they don't support it).

Trivia: The cg.xyz site usually loads faster than the actual site due to some caching shenanigans. My use for this site is as a playground for DNS-level caching and compression. About 1,6k organic, unique (non-search-engine) users use this proxy every month.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ If anyone has €225/year to spare, we could also register pp.cg for something even shorter. \$\endgroup\$
    – Joe Z.
    May 22, 2016 at 23:35
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ This seems like a) there should be some notice that you are not on Stack Exchange, and b) a robots.txt telling crawlers not to crawl the site. Otherwise, this is no less than a SCRAPER, as codegolf.xyz is taking credit for the posts without linking back to SE. \$\endgroup\$
    – hichris123
    Aug 11, 2016 at 20:53
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This is illegal screen scraping. You just confuse people and cause more harm than good in my opinion. Better shut this thing down before it cause more harm. \$\endgroup\$
    – user8790
    Aug 11, 2016 at 21:00

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .